Oranjezicht City Farm Market

Oranjezicht City Farm MarketIt was a rainy day in Cape Town today. I could see the clouds rolling in over the mountain but my lazy self needed to get to gym. I had never been to  the Oranjezicht City Farm Market and it was still open  (Saterday 9.30 till after lunch), so I decided to stop by on the way to gym (I have a cool hoody and hipster track suite bottoms – I didn’t look that hideous :-P).

I got out the car and rushed into the market. Thank goodness it has a tent covering to shelter from the rain. I immediately liked it. It’s a small market – intimate and cosy!

First stop: Spades & Spoons Deli. I had recently seen photo’s of the place posted on facebook so was happy to be able to taste what I had seen. The lady that runs the place has been vegan for a good many years so all the products are vegan – mostly raw vegan. Raw chocolate treats, chocolate brownies, carrot cake and raw vegan cheese cake. I tasted everything! The raw orange chocolate dessert was my favourite, but I’m a chocoholic so I decided to buy the raw vegan cheesecake as an interesting change. The nuts she uses in the deserts are pre-soaked for digestibility, which I liked. I don’t agree with eating raw nuts that are not soaked. Most of her cakes are sweetened with agave (I’m not a fan of agave). Some of the desserts are sweetened with fruit others with sugar (probably the few cakes that were not raw). The cheese cake was delish and it was my first vegan ‘cheese’ cake. It was still very naughty and today was not my cheat day! She also sells raw crackers (carrot, sweet potato, coconut and ‘pizza’). I’m guessing they are made through dehydration and low heat. Very yummy! I bought the sweet potato ones. The crackers are there for tasters to have with the amazing dips. My favourite was the curry coconut dip!

https://www.facebook.com/spadesandspoonsdeli

The next place I found exciting was the french cheese stall. I prefer to eat raw dairy. If I’m having a cheat day, I don’t mind having pasteurized dairy from a farm that treats their animals fairly. I get introduced to a brie that is made from pasteurised cows milk. I hone in on the word pasteurized and ask if he maybe had unpasteurized cheese. YES! I was amped. He had at least 3 cheeses made from unpasteurised milk. They were from De Savoie region in France – this is apparently near the alps. Images of cows strolling through flowery mountain pastures fill my mind. I had once watched a documentary on some cows in the alps. All the flowers they ate gave the cheeses from the region its different flavour – I doubt this was that exact cheese but I was still!  I bought Reblochon. I loved it. Nothing like eating smelly, creamy cheese. I should have bought more. Not to worry, the places name is La Cremerie and they have a shop in Gardens Shopping Centre. Not the best that they are imported from France (in terms of trying to buy local of course, I would never refer to french cheese being sub standard). We have no raw milk cheeses made in SA that I know of.

http://showme.co.za/cape-town/lifestyle/food-wine/la-cremeriefrench-market-under-the-cover-with-ed-beukes/

There’s a few stands selling fresh veg and I could only buy spinach ( I was already low on cash). I think I’m going to do my veg shopping there every Saturday. All the veg is local, fresh and organic.

The next place of interest was a man selling a variety of produce, but the quinoa was what held my interest. Organic red and white quinoa. I love red quinoa. It’s not easy to come by organic red quinoa in Cape Town. Unfortunately, the red quinoa stocked by Wellness Warehouse is not organic and I think it might be GMO (If I can’t sprout a grain, I assume it has been nukes and hence GMO). The man at the stall said he brought the quinoa from South America (not the seeds). He has started to sprout and grow them himself! Score! In the future I will be able to be a able to buy locally produced, non GMO, organic quinoa from him.

Cherene Organics! The sprouts I buy from Wellness Warehouse boast this name – I was happy to put a face to the product. The lady makes the most amazing pesto and humus. I struggled to chose one! I ended up getting the basil humus. The tub is already finished. What impressed me most is the amount of love she put into making the humus. The chickpeas are first sprouted then steamed. Only the best, natural ingredients added to the chickpeas. Preperation is everything. Our ancestors put a lot more effort into preparing food than we did. All beans, peas, legumes and grains should be soaked, fermented or sprouted. It helps your body assimilate the nutrients and it tastes better. I also feel more alive and vibrant eating these 🙂

https://www.facebook.com/Chereneorganics

I’m also into buying “biodynamic” eggs now. The eggs I found at the market were Happy Hen eggs. I’ve seen them on the Ethical Co-op website and remember them being labeled as Free Range, so I wasn’t too sure what their standards for chickens are like. I unfortunately can’t find a website online.

I found everyone at the market very friendly and they were all so passionate about the foods they were creating. I left the market to take a look at the ‘farm’ opposite the market. The rain had cleared up a bit. As I was strolling through the garden, I looked around – to my right Table Mountain and to my far left I had a view of the ocean. This must be the City Farm with one of the best views in the world! At the end of the farm/garden, I saw some steam rising off the ground, it was the compost heap. Two men were turning the ‘soil’…

It’s a non-profit community farm. Great initiative! Their site below to view more details on how it all started and how to get involved:

http://www.ozcf.co.za/about/

OK. Too much food in my belly! Off to gym…

Leave a Reply

